Home >> About >> History


The Starkville Foundation for Public Education (SFPE) was chartered in December 1989 to enhance public education in Starkville. Twenty founding SFPE members focused their initial efforts on raising funds for innovative school projects that encouraged student creativity and inspirational teaching.

Grant Program

In 1990, SFPE started a classroom grant program to fund exceptional projects proposed by teachers, administrators, and staff. The Grant Program has become one of our primary points of pride. To date, this competitive process has invested over $135,000 in our most motivated and talented educators.

Memorable grant projects have included

  • Farm to Table Gardens at Emerson Preschool and Ward Stewart Elementary
  • Integrated Math Instruction at Ward Stewart Elementary
  • Computer and Robotics programs at Armstrong Middle School and Starkville High School
  • Video cameras and Newspaper Subscriptions for Starkville High School’s Award-Winning Print and Broadcast Journalism Program
  • Bridge Engineering projects at Starkville High School
  • Literacy programs at Overstreet School for Alternative/GED Education
  • Travel to State and National-Level Academic Competitions for Armstrong Middle School’s National History Day and Robotics Teams and Starkville High School’s Poetry Out Loud Team

To honor stand out projects, SFPE selects one grant for the annual Larry Box Award in honor of former superintendent Dr. Larry Box.

Hall of the Famous – Teachers, Alumni, and Staff Awards

Beginning in 1992, SFPE partnered with the Starkville School District to create the Hall of the Famous which recognizes outstanding accomplishments of Henderson and Starkville High School alumni and staff. The selection committee considers contributions to society in the areas of education, professional accomplishments, and community service. Previous inductees are involved in education, medicine, military service, business, finance, the arts, and athletics. SFPE Board of Directors honor these distinguished recipients at our annual Spring Awards Reception.